Schellhammer Urological Research Foundation
Today's Research Offers Tomorrow's Hope
Welcome Clinicians
About Us
Patient Information
About Us

Kurt A. McCammon, M.D.

McCammonDr. McCammon earned his medical degree, magna cum laude, from the Medical College of Ohio in Toledo, OH, in 1992 after completing his undergraduate degree in Biology at the University of Toledo in 1988.

He served his internship in general surgery in the Department of Surgery at Eastern Virginia Graduate School of Medicine, where he also completed his residencies in general surgery and urology, receiving the Upjohn Award for Intern of the Year in 1993. After completing a fellowship in Adult and Pediatric Reconstructive Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School in 1997, he joined Urology of Virginia PLLC.

Dr. McCammon was appointed Chairman of the Department of Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School in 2011. He also serves as the Urology Residency Program Director as well as Director of the Genitourinary Reconstructive Fellowship Program. On April 9, 2013, the Eastern Virginia Medical School Board of Visitors appointed Dr. McCammon the Devine Chair in Genitourinary Reconstructive Surgery. He has wide and varied academic interests and is an innovative leader in the field of genitourinary reconstructive surgery. He is keenly motivated in the area of investigation and has made notable contributions to Urologic literature. He also participates in numerous national and international medical conferences and serves as a visiting professor at many centers throughout the world.

Dr. McCammon received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Toledo in October 2011.

He is a member of the American Urological Association, the American College of Surgeons, the Society of Genitourinary Surgeons, IVUmed and Societe Internationale d’Urologie. Dr. McCammon is Diplomate of the American Board of Urology.